Level 5 Diploma in Computing


The Level 5 Diploma in Computing (RQF) (L5DC) makes up the second year of the NCC Education degree journey and builds upon the knowledge gained during the NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing. Exposing students to greater detail and more advanced topics in a range of areas including database development, information systems analysis, network security and cryptography.

Students will study a balance of academic and vocational subjects in order to provide the necessary knowledge and skills to play a significant role in IT organisations.

On successful completion of the qualification students will be able to complete the final year of a degree with the NCC Education Business Computing and Information Systems Top Up validated by the University of Central Lancashire (UCLan), the University of Greenwich Business Information Technology Top Up delivered at our Accredited Partner Centres, at one of the many universities that recognise NCC Education qualifications, or pursue a career in the IT industry.


NCC Education is accredited to award the Level 5 Diploma in Computing (RQF) by Ofqual (Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation) in England. Ofqual Qualification reference number 600/3055/0.


For entry onto the NCC Education L5DC qualification students must have at least one of the following:

  • NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing (RQF) (L4DC).


  • A local or international qualification which is deemed to be of a similar level to the NCC Education L4DC qualification. This must be agreed with NCC Education in advance.

If a potential student whose first language is not English, they will need to obtain a valid score of 5.5 or above in the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) examination or equivalent. Alternatively, take the free NCC Education Higher English Placement Test, which is administered by our Accredited Partner Centres.

 Direct Entry at Other Points

The majority of students are expected to join the NCC Education Information Technology Journey at Level 4 or earlier. However, applications will be accepted for entry at any point and will be accepted, by means of documented evidence, using the following criteria:

  • The applicant’s general educational background is appropriate for the level of entry.
  • The applicant’s knowledge of computing is both equivalent to, and appropriate for, the level of entry.


Students must study the following eight core units:

  • Professional Issues in IT – This module highlights the professional issues that impact the development, deployment, maintenance and use of computer systems. It equips students with the knowledge surrounding social, ethical and legal issues applicable to the IT field and also a working understanding of software quality.
  • Network Security and Cryptography – This module provides students with the underlying theory and practical skills required to secure networks and to send data safely and securely over communications networks.
  • Information Systems Analysis – This module equips students with a range of tools to analyse the function and requirements of information systems, as well as the skills to compare systems analysis models and to examine them in the wider context of the Internet and the social, economic and political climate of an organisation.
  • Dynamic Websites – This module builds on existing knowledge of both databases and web design in order to build dynamic websites and also equips students with a range of skills to present content on the World Wide Web.
  • Analysis, Design and Implementation – This module provides students with in-depth knowledge, skills and experience in the use of object-oriented techniques for the development of software. It develops students’ expertise in object-oriented analysis, design and coding, and the testing of systems.
  • Database Design and Development – This module allows students to develop skills in the design and development of databases and database management systems, as well as investigating enterprise applications of databases.
  • Agile Development – This module explores the processes, people, practices and principles of agile development systems. It prepares students for future trends in software development and reinforces their understanding of the information systems development process.
  • Computing Project – This module provides students with the opportunity to utilise the skills needed to develop a computing artefact to solve a problem, which involves research, analysis, design, coding, testing and project management knowledge and expertise.

Are you ready to get started?

Subscribe To Our Newsletter